Since 2003, the IMF has honored an outstanding physician each year with the Robert A. Kyle Lifetime Achievement Award. The award, named for its first recipient, is presented to an individual whose body of work in the field of multiple myeloma has made significant advances in research, treatment, and care of myeloma patients.

Our honorees’ work reflects the words of Dr. William Mayo, founder of Mayo Clinic, who challenged the nature of patient care nearly a century ago when he said “The needs of the patient are the only needs to be considered.”

2022 Awardee:

Dr. Herve Avet-Loiseau, 2022 Robert A. Kyle Lifetime Achievement Award
Hervé Avet-Loiseau, MD, PhD

Hervé Avet-Loiseau, MD, PhD has been Head of the Laboratory for Genomics in Myeloma at the University Hospital Center of Toulouse, France for a decade. Dr. Avet-Loiseau is also the Head of the Hematology Laboratory at the University Hospital of Nantes, France since 2008. He is the current Chairman of Intergroupe Francophone du Myélome (IFM) and is highly involved in leading all biological studies.

Dr. Avet-Loiseau's research studies are mostly based "on the analysis of genetic/genomic abnormalities observed in malignant plasma cells" with the use of varying technologies, which include fluorescence in situ hybridization (FiSH), gene expression profiling, single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP) arrays, and next-generation sequencing (NGS), as detailed by European Multiple Myeloma Academy (EMMA).


Image Left
Floating Circles


Give Where Most Needed

We use cookies on our website to support technical features that enhance your user experience.

We also use analytics & advertising services. To opt-out click for more information.