August 26, 2020

The International Myeloma Foundation (IMF), the first and largest foundation focusing specifically on multiple myeloma, is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 International Myeloma Working Group (IMWG) Awards. The annual awards, given on August 26, 2020 during the 11th Annual IMWG Summit, recognize outstanding multiple myeloma specialists whose work has significantly improved the lives of patients.

The mission of the IMWG, a group of more than 200 international myeloma experts, is to conduct collaborative basic, clinical, and translational research to improve outcomes for myeloma patients while providing scientifically validated, critically appraised consensus guidelines for the myeloma community globally.

Thierry Facon, MD, is the recipient of the 2020 Robert A. Kyle Lifetime Achievement Award, and Wee Joo Chng, MD, is the 2020 Brian G.M. Durie Outstanding Achievement Award honoree.

  • The Robert A. Kyle Lifetime Achievement Award: Named for its first recipient, the Kyle Award is given to an individual whose body of work in the field of myeloma, a cancer of the bone marrow plasma cells, has made significant advances in research, treatment and patient care. This year’s award recipient, Dr. Thierry Facon, is Professor of Hematology in the Department of Hematology, Lille University Hospital, Lille, France, and is also an honorary professor at the Institute of Hematology & Blood Diseases Hospital, Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences, Peking Union Medical College, China.
  • The Brian G.M. Durie Outstanding Achievement Award: Named for the IMF Chairman, the award is given to an individual who has demonstrated excellence in multiple myeloma research. This year’s award recipient, Dr. Wee Joo Chng, is the Director of the National University Cancer Institute of Singapore at the National University Health System, Singapore. He is Group Director of Research Office at the National University Health System and Vice-Dean of Research at the Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore.

“I would like to thank Dr. Bob Kyle and the selection committee for this great honor. The Kyle Award means a lot to all of us in the myeloma community,” said Dr. Facon.

“It is such an honor and privilege to be part of the myeloma community and contribute my part in helping improve the lives of our patients,” said Dr. Chng. “I am most happy and grateful for this award as it recognizes our contributions and the good work we are doing. It takes a village, so this is also for the whole team back home.”

“Myeloma patients around the world have benefited—and will continue to benefit—from the important research contributions made by Dr. Facon and Dr. Chng. Their work brings us closer to finding the pathway to a cure,” said Dr. Durie.

IMF President and Co-Founder Susie Novis Durie said: “We applaud the accomplishments and important contributions to improving the lives of myeloma patients made by Dr. Facon and Dr. Chng.”


Give Where Most Needed

We use cookies on our website to support technical features that enhance your user experience.

We also use analytics & advertising services. To opt-out click for more information.