Living Well with Myeloma: Financial & Other Resources for Patients and Caregivers

A panel of experts shares best practices for myeloma patients and caregivers to access physical support services, financial resources, and more!

 

August 12, 2021

4 p.m. PT /5 p.m. MT
6 p.m. CT/ 7 p.m. ET

 

The speakers include IMF Nurse Leadership Board member Beth Faiman PhD, MSN, APRN-BC, AOCN®, FAAN; Oncology Social Worker Rebecca Zeiter, MSSA, LSW; and Financial Navigator Shonita Gamble, LSW. All the speakers are practicing in their fields at the Cleveland Clinic – Taussig Cancer Institute.

During the webinar, myeloma patients and their caregivers will learn best practices to access physical support services, financial resources, and more. The panel will discuss commonly encountered financial and other considerations that patients and caregivers may face.

Register Now

Agenda

Robin Tuohy  

Welcome & Introduction 

Rebecca Zeiter
MSSA, LSW

Overview of financial and co-pay support:
  • How do patients access financial support options without a social worker?
  • Early retirement and general disability concerns

Beth Faiman 
PhD, MSN, APRN-BC, AOCN®, FAAN

Overview of communication strategies with your team:
  • How to talk to your healthcare team about high copay: Will missing access to certain options compromise a patient’s care?
  • Shared decision making: How do patients access support for second opinions?

Shontia Gamble
LSW

Strategies for obtaining financial support for treatments:
  • Insurance support
  • Foundation support
  • Pharmaceutical company access

 

Q & A: At the end of each panel discussion, participants will have time to ask questions.

 

Register Now

 


Webinar Sponsors:

The IMF thanks the following event sponsors for their generous support:
Bristol-Myers Squibb, Janssen, Oncopeptides, and Takeda Oncology

 

IMF TV Blog Category

Source URL: https://www.myeloma.org/videos/living-well-myeloma-financial-other-resources-patients-caregivers